The history of the volunteer movement
1920-1928, Antwerp – Paris – Chamonix - Amsterdam

In the inter-war period boy scouts helped out at each Games that took place. At the Olympic Winter Games of 1924 in Chamonix, volunteers were entrusted with the most esteemed role of all: that of carrying the national flags of the participating teams during the grand opening and closing ceremonies.

1952, Helsinki

Over two thousand young volunteers are mentioned in the official report on the Games: 1617 boys and 574 girls, 130 of whom took part in the entertainment programmes, while the rest worked as couriers. No data is available about how old the volunteers were in those days, and we only know that the oldest volunteer was aged 50.

 
1956, Melbourne - Cortina d'Ampezzo

At the Melbourne Games the number of boy scouts alone was 3500. Girl scouts also took part in organizing the Olympic Games, along with members of other youth organizations, data on which is, alas, no longer available. In the same year, at the Winter Olympics at Cortina d'Ampezzo, military service personnel acted as volunteers and assistants, and this tradition would continue in the years to come. But while the army was engaged mostly in maintaining order and safety, there were also individual volunteers working at the Games as guides and translators.

История волонтерского движения
1920-1928, Антверпен – Париж – Шамони - Амстердам

В период между мировыми войнами бойскауты принимали участие в каждых проводимых Играх. На зимних Олимпийских играх 1924 года в Шамони добровольцам впервые доверили самую почетную роль - нести национальные флаги команд-участниц во время торжественных церемоний открытия и закрытия.

1952, Хельсинки

В официальном отчете об Играх упоминаются уже более двух тысяч молодых волонтеров - 1617 мальчиков и 574 девочки, из них 130 человек участвовало в развлекательных программах, а остальные работали посыльными. О взрослых волонтерах той поры данных нет, известно лишь, что самому старшему было 50 лет.

 
1956, Мельбурн – Кортина д’Ампеццо

На Играх в Мельбурне только бойскаутов было 3500 человек. Участие в организации Олимпийских игр принимали также герлскауты и члены других молодежных организаций, статистика по которым, увы, не сохранилась. В том же году на зимней Олимпиаде в Кортина-д’Ампеццо в роли добровольцев-помощников выступили военнослужащие, эта традиция продолжилась и в последующие годы. Но, если армия занималась в большей степени обеспечением порядка и безопасности, индивидуальные добровольцы бесплатно работали на Играх гидами, переводчиками.